top of page

LAC Steering Committees - Education



The Education Steering Committee is responsible for directing LAC’s work in the area of nurse education. The committee’s work is focused on working with the state’s providers of nursing education to help provide seamless progression from one level of the profession to the next, identifying barriers to continuing education and developing strategies to help remove them, and working to recruit nurse faculty.


Education Steering Committee Members


Gail Poirrier, DNS, RN
Core Leadership Team member, Louisiana Action Coalition
Dean, University of Louisiana at Lafayette School of Nursing

Other members: 
Anne Carruth, DNS, RN
Dean, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Southeastern Louisiana University

Sue Westbrook, DNS, MA, RN
Dean, College of Nursing and Allied Health, Nicholls State University

Emily S. Doughty, Ed.D., MSN, RN
Director, Kitty Degree School of Nursing, University of Louisiana at Monroe

Peggy Wolfe, RN, MPH, MS, PhD 
Dean, McNeese State University College of Nursing


LAC strategic Education goals
  • Support seamless progression across all levels of nursing education.

  • Promote nursing curriculum offerings to include key competencies.

  • Promote both interprofessional and lifelong learning opportunities.

  • Improve recruitment and retention of diverse faculty members and students.

  • Expand Louisiana’s capacity to prepare BSN and doctoral candidates.


bottom of page